Scare Fest 2009

 

Scare Fest Booth (Scott on Left and Me on Right)

Scare Fest Booth (Scott on Left and Me on Right)

 

 

This September 11-13 I had the opportunity to be one of the vendors at Scare Fest. I packed my bags, and along with my friends Matt Essary and Scott Mizis, headed to Lexington, KY. It was different from the last few cons that I’ve done because there was no art show, so I had a vendor booth in the dealers room.

 

While Scott and I set to setting up the booth, Matt raced off with his wad of cash to take care of getting all his celebrity signatures early. A few minuets later Matt returned with his new friend Leslie Easterbrook (aka Mother Firefly from Devil’s Rejects) pushing him in his wheelchair. Matt then grinned at me and introduced me to Leslie. I found out that Leslie really wanted a Zombie Portrait done of her, and I was more than happy to do it. She explained that she wanted to send it off to Rob Zombie as a joke, because she was always trying to convince him to do a third film where the House of 1000 Corpses family comes back as zombies.

 

Leslie Easterbrook with Zombie Portrait

Leslie Easterbrook with Zombie Portrait

Matt Essary and Leslie Easterbrook

Matt Essary and Leslie Easterbrook

 

 

 

Later in the convention Matt brought Walter Phelan (aka Dr. Satan from House of 1000 Corpses) over to my booth, and he wanted a Zombie Portrait too! I was super pumped and when I finished and brought it to him I dropped to one knee threw up the devil hand signs and did the classic “Dr. Satan” high pitched yell from the movie. Walter was a really cool guy, and we chatted for a bit about the various behind the scenes stories from the movies he’s been in.

 

Walter Phelan with Zombie Portrait

Walter Phelan with Zombie Portrait

 

 

The other highlight of Scarefest was being positioned across from Matt and The Insect Kingdom. Matt runs a business of framed butterflies, scorpions, beetles, bats, and various animal skulls. Needless to say I spent most of the weekend eyeing the skulls and the bats. As an artist I’m always looking for good references and it doesn’t get much better than owning your own bat! Matt was a super cool guy and I am thoroughly happy with my new bat and cat skull. All you artists out there should really check out his website the reference potential is amazing.

 

Me and my Framed Bat

Me and my Framed Bat

 

 

In addition to the awesome celebrity endorsements and my new bat, I had the pleasure of zombiefying about 30 folks at Scarefest! I also sold one original inked drawing of the Death Jester and several prints and magnets of my art.

A big thanks to Scott and Matt for helping me man my booth! I couldn’t have done it without you guys!

For more examples of my zombie art at Scare Fest 2009 check out my Facebook photo album:

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=106970&id=680083591&l=3c35f6e1a2

Leave a Reply

