Assassin Waiting Game

My wife is pregnant, and her due date was yesterday! No baby yet, she’s having contractions, but they are irregular. We’ve been at home 3 days now. In between clocking contraction times with a stop watch we’ve been fixing up the house, walking, going shopping for stuff for the house, walking, and playing video games. (My wife LOVES video games!) And so we wait…

In addition to all that I spent some time this last week working on a new Oil Painting. That’s right fool, you heard me… I said OIL PAINTING!!! Ever since going to Illuxcon back in 2008 I’ve wanted to do more traditional art (as opposed to digital). Over the last 6 months I have really stepped it up doing a lot more drawing, inking, and painting in acrylic. At Illuxcon 2009 I had to admit that nothing quite compared to the vibrancy of color that an oil painting produced.

So I broke out my messy old oil paints from back in college. I cleaned the tubes, invested in a few new brushes, and a wooden box to store everything in. I decided to use GALKYD as a medium, mixed with GAMSOL (Odorless Mineral Spirits) and Cobalt Drier because this medium really speeds up drying time. For those that know me I am a man of action, and not very good at waiting. I am MUCH more patient now than I was in my early twenties, but I’m afraid I’m still the product of the video game generations, and we like things fast!

That said, when I work on a painting (or anything I really love) I achieve a hypnotic focus and attention to detail that is unmatched by most mortal men. But the second I have to wait for the thing to dry I go crazy! I mean it’s called painting, not waiting! Knowing all this is what led me to the mediums above. GALKYD increases the drying time of oils to about 24 hours (give or take depending upon weather and humidity), mixed with GAMSOL to increase fluidity (GALKYD is a bit thick, kinda like watery toothpaste), and then add two drops (and I mean only two!) of Cobalt Drier. All that mixed together brings the drying time of oils to about 4 to 6 hours!

That means I can start a paint session in the morning, paint for about 2 or 3 hours, take a break and come back and paint some more! Take a break, paint some more, etc… It was awesome, and definitely something I will try again.

And so without further ado, here is the final drawing that I did as prep for the painting. The subject is the Assassin Devil, done as a part of the Art Order Blog competition Creature Retread.

Assassin Devil Drawing by Sam Flegal

And here is the Oil Painting!

Assassin Devil Oil Painting by Sam Flegal

I am very pleased with the results.

Hopefully when next we chat I will be able to introduce you to my latest work of art… BABY FLEGAL! 😉

Leave a Reply

