Painting Orcs

In response to last weeks post Warhammer: A Box Full of Orcs!!! my Dad sent me a batch of photos he took while I was painting Orc Charge. I had forgotten he took these, but thought I would share a few photos of me painting and talk some about my process.

First I do a bunch of doodles. It’s important for me to focus on getting cool poses, so I usually draw each figure individually in my sketchbook until I get something I like. Then I scan those in and use Photoshop to move the figures around until I get a composition I like. I then print that out lightly and do a more clear drawing. I try not to get to attached to anything, because this is when I send it off to the Art Director for approval. In this case Zoë Robinson from Fantasy Flight Games.

Fortunately I got approval with no changes. My next step is to shoot reference and then do a more refined final drawing, working out all the lighting and details. My reference for this piece was me in my back yard, standing shirtless, with a metal cooking pot on my head. Needless to say I will not be posting those photos, but here is the final drawing.

I then mount the drawing on board and get to work. At the point my Dad came over I was working on the final details of the painting.

In this first photo you can see that I’m looking at my drawing as a reference. This is very helpful as a lot of times in oil paint things can get muddy and you can loose the original intent. You can also see just a little sliver of my reference photos.

In this next photo you can see a little wider view of my studio workspace. I use a drawing table with plenty of light. I have a table set up next to me full of paint and brushes. In the background hang my two swords, a small model skeleton, and some art (one is Mike Mignola’s Hellboy, the other is Steven Belledin Perimeter Captain).

In this last photo you can see a close up of me painting with bad posture. This often happens at the detail stage. Also if you’ve been wondering what that long red things is, well it’s called a maulstick and it’s used to rest your hand on so you don’t mess up your painting by setting your hand down on it. (I also think that’s how they came up with Darth Maul and why they gave him a light saber staff. Just sayin’.)

And that pretty much sums it up.

Stay Strange!

One thought on “Painting Orcs

  1. Pingback: Orc Charge « Sam Flegal

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,709 other followers

