The Hávamál Project

Havamal_V77_text

Today I’m starting a new project. My goal for the rest of the month of December is to create a drawing every day (with breaks for the holidays) based on the Hávamál. What is the Hávamál you ask? It translates as “Sayings of Har.” Har is the High One, another name for Odin. So they are the “Sayings of the High One.”

These sayings are a collection of poetry, offering insights and wisdom to help one lead a good life. There is some amazing wisdom in this ancient text, and it’s been translated numerous times. I am going to use the Henry Adams Bellows translation because it’s old enough to be in the public domain. Modern scholars have done more accurate english translations, and I encourage you to seek them out if this topic interests you, but for my purpose Bellows will do nicely.

My approach for each drawing is quite different than my previous method of working. When I start there is no plan. Using watered down ink I create random shapes. I often do several of these at once and set them aside. Each day I select a passage from the Hávamál, print it out, and tack it above my work space. I read and re-read the verse. Then I light a candle, make an offering to the spirits who guide me, and meditate on the verse. When I feel ready I return to my studio.

I then look at the random shapes and use a pencil to find all the creatures and objects that will help bring the prose to life. Then I begin inking in black. Once finished I highlight a few areas in white.

So far my experience with working more intuitively and spiritually have helped me connect with my art in a completely new way. One strange side effect is that I don’t completely feel like the art I’m creating is my own, it feels somehow “other.” Having talked with other artists who embrace their spirituality and a bit of randomness this is not surprising, but it does feel chaotic. For now my goal is to embrace the chaos and let this project go where it wants to go.

I invite you to take this journey with me. You can find the Bellows translation of the Hávamál HERE. If you have a favorite passage share it with me either via e-mail or social media.

You can find me in all the fashionable internet places and follow along as I go:

Instagram

Tumblr

Facebook

———-

To see more of my work or to contact me for availability to help with your project, please visit: www.samflegal.com

Subscribe to my YouTube channel: HERE

To be the first to get special offers and news about my art sign up for my Newsletter: HERE

STAY STRANGE!

34 thoughts on “The Hávamál Project

  1. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 2, verse 13 | An Artist's Journey

  2. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 3, verse 1 | An Artist's Journey

  3. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 4, verse 16 | An Artist's Journey

  4. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 5, verse 47 | An Artist's Journey

  5. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 6, verse 20 | An Artist's Journey

  6. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 7, verse 19 | An Artist's Journey

  7. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 8, verse 134 | An Artist's Journey

  8. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 9, verse 41 | An Artist's Journey

  9. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 10, verse 58 | An Artist's Journey

  10. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 11, verse 71 | An Artist's Journey

  11. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 12, verse 76 | An Artist's Journey

  12. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 13, verse 6 | An Artist's Journey

  13. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 14, verse 36-37 | An Artist's Journey

  14. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Process | An Artist's Journey

  15. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 15, verse 23 | An Artist's Journey

  16. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 16, verse 52 | An Artist's Journey

  17. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 17, verse 113-114 | An Artist's Journey

  18. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 18, verse 124 | An Artist's Journey

  19. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 19, verse 33 | An Artist's Journey

  20. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 20, verse 91 | An Artist's Journey

  21. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 21, verse 139 | An Artist's Journey

  22. Pingback: 2015 Year in Review! | An Artist's Journey

  23. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 22, verse 34 | An Artist's Journey

  24. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 23, verse 146 | An Artist's Journey

  25. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 24, verse 146 | An Artist's Journey

  26. Pingback: Inking Process for The Hávamál Project | An Artist's Journey

  27. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 24, verse 144 | An Artist's Journey

  28. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 25, verse 156 | An Artist's Journey

  29. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 26, verse 27 | An Artist's Journey

  30. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 27, verse 162 | An Artist's Journey

  31. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 28, verse 158 | An Artist's Journey

  32. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 29, verse 89 | An Artist's Journey

  33. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 30, verse 61 | An Artist's Journey

  34. Pingback: The Hávamál Project – Day 31, verse 143 | An Artist's Journey

Leave a Reply

