On Dragon Con 2008

I recently attended Dragon Con (Aug 29th – Sept 1st). I had gone once before several years ago, and I didn’t have a good time. I didn’t have any real agenda, and I must admit I found the experience of over 30,000 geeks in one location a bit overwhelming.

In the interest of advancing my illustration business, I decided to give Dragon Con another try, but this time with an agenda. My goal for Dragon Con was to show my illustration portfolio to various artists and art directors working in the Sci-Fi Fantasy field. My hope was to get feedback, tips on breaking into the illustration business, and hopefully a job!

Well this year at Dragon Con I can honestly say I had a blast! I attended a number of classes, panels, and workshops. I got to meet several great artists, and received some excellent feedback about my work. The convention got me pumped about art and got me thinking about my artist’s journey.

Leave a Reply

