Drawing at the Table

For those who don’t know me I will now reveal that I am a huge gamer. I love video games, board games, card games, miniature games, and roleplaying games. I’d say it is pretty obvious from my website and portfolio that I’m a big fan of fantasy and science fiction. I think vampires, werewolves, wizards, and monsters are cool. It is my dream, to one-day get to draw and paint such things as a full-time living.

I get a lot of my inspiration for monsters and creatures from the games that I play. The single best source of which is the Table Top Roleplaying Games I play with my friends. Once or twice a month my friends and I gather around the table to slay monsters, fly spacecrafts, bring balance back to the world, and thwart nefarious plots. It is a blast and one of my favorite things to do, but it is also a great source of inspiration. When I’m not running the game I spend a big portion of the evening scribbling away in my sketchbook. I seem to get more drawing done in that one evening than some entire weeks!

I’ve collected quite a few sketches over the last several months and thought I would share them here. This first sketch is of an evil Tech Priest who has fallen to the god of death and decay. What’s not to love!

 

Evil Tech-Priest

Evil Tech-Priest

 

 

Here are a couple of yelling heads. I’m not sure why, but I’ve noticed a trend in my art to show people yelling.

 

Heads

Heads

 

 

This next one is of a fat old woman and a fat witch. More and more I find I really like drawing fat people. There is something fun about them.

 

A Couple of Old Women

A Couple of Old Women

 

 

And last, but not least…a monkey. What can I say monkeys are cool!

 

Monkey

Monkey

 

 

2 thoughts on “Drawing at the Table

  1. Awesome stuff! Thanks for sharing. Cherish those gaming groups, I’ve been without mine for several years and they are tough to come by. Happy gaming!

Leave a comment