A Strange Year… Strange like Sam Flegal

2010 is a year that I will never forget. My daughter was born on February 1st, and by the end of March I was a full time Dad and Zombie Portrait Artist. I’ve been told I’m both brave and a little crazy (probably more of the 2nd) for tackling both in one year, but to me it seemed like the right thing to do…

…and it’s been a fantastic year!

In March, April, May, and June I did 10 different shows and traveled all over Kentucky, to Kansas, to Dallas Texas, to Alabama, and back to Nashville! I started to learn the ins and outs of running your own business and got to learn a lot about working in sales.

Come June I attended the Illustration Master Class and had a life changing and art changing experience. You can read more about that here and here.

Then it was back on the convention scene with 15 more shows in June, July, August, September, October, November, and December. By the end I was tired, and experienced some really great shows and some really bad ones. I learned more and more about where the market for my art was. I made some new friends, and got to bring some old ones along for the ride. I began to develop a feeling of family with the other road warriors out there, but I also came to miss my family.

Looking back on it all it feels like the year has gone by in a blur. My daughter is walking now, and I have learned a lot. Several personal art heroes have told me “They can’t wait to see how far I will progress next year, because they are impressed with how far I’ve come this one.” It’s been a lot of hard work, but in the end it was worth it!

I’m also excited about the things 2011 has to offer! I already have 9 confirmed shows, and I’m in negotiation to do 9+ more. I will be doing the Illustration Master Class again! And my wife and my sister will be able to come with me to at least half of my shows or more! So my family and my business can grow together!

I wish you all happiness and hard work. Dream big, and then make those dreams happen!

Happy Holidays and an even Happier New Year!

Sam Flegal

3 thoughts on “A Strange Year… Strange like Sam Flegal

Leave a Reply

